California State University Emeritus & Retired Faculty & Staff Association


State Council


The State Council is the governing body of CSU-ERFSA.  The State Council consists of the officers, Executive Committee members-at-large, delegates from the campus affiliated organizations, State Council delegates-at-large, standing committee chairs, and ex officio members of the State Council.  Each campus affiliate is entitled to select annually one member from among its Association members for each seventy-five (75) Association members or fraction thereof.  Delegates serve one-year terms except for the nine elected State Council delegates-at-large, who serve staggered three-year terms.

Meetings of the State Council normally are held twice a year, usually, at a campus close to a major airport. Recent meetings have been held at CSU Dominguez Hills, CSU Long Beach, CSU Fullerton, Cal Poly Pomona, San Jose State, and at the Downtown Oakland Center of Cal State East Bay. While most State Council meetings are held at campuses in the southern part of the state, usually every fourth meeting is held at a northern campus. A recently approved amendment to the CSU-ERFSA by-laws, changed the minimum number of required number of State Council Meetings to one per year.

All members of CSU-ERFSA are welcome to attend State Council meetings. Non-delegate members who plan to attend are encouraged to notify CSU-ERFSA headquarters beforehand (call 818-677-6522), so that meeting materials can be sent in advance.

A summary of news from each State Council Meeting is published in the issue of the CSU-ERFSA Reporter following the meeting.